The Push/Fixed Crawl

The majority of your bowhunting year is spent practicing and/or training. This is the place to discuss it!
Jamesh76

The Push/Fixed Crawl

#1 Post by Jamesh76 »

I am sure most of you have likely seen this video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1E1vKkSSoNs

I have watched it a couple of times. Might just give it a try and see what its all about. I started out traditional archery around 2006 and I was shooting 3 under. I was fairly consistent with it shooting instinctive but never great. The first few deer I drew back on, I found myself grabbing the string split finger. I couldn't break the habit when it was time for a shot. So I started practicing split shooting instinctive and have had pretty good success with it. I messed around with gap shooting but it just didn't fit my style. I'm interested in fixed crawl and wonder how it will work for me. Anyone have experience with it?

Graps

Re: The Push/Fixed Crawl

#2 Post by Graps »

Shooting split instinctive is much less to think about.
Dacota18 shoots fixed crawl and he loves it. Maybe he might post on here and give his opinion.
"Maybe the truly handicapped people are the ones that don't need God as much." ~ Joni Eareckson Tada

Dakota18

#3 Post by Dakota18 »

I’ve been shooting with a fixed crawl for about three years now. I used to shoot 3 under and even went as far as flying down to Arkansas and shooting with Rick Welch at his shooting school. I’ve won my share of local shoots and killed quite a few white tails but was never totally satisfied with my shooting.
Like so many trad shooters when I started out about 30 years ago I was under the impression that you had to shoot totally instinctive. I started wondering how all the ibo tournament shooters shot so accurately and found out they all have their own aiming system usually some kind of gap shooting. About three years ago I came across the push shooting video and that changed everything.